A(8)  B(3)  C(2)  D(2)  E(4)  F(4)  G(3)  H(3)  I(4)  K(1)  L(2)  M(5)  N(4)  O(3)  P(3)  R(1)  S(3)  T(1)  U(1)  V(1)  W(1)  Z(1)  All


America's News (NewsBank)

Search the Council Bluffs and the Omaha World Herald, full text. America's News provides Web-based access to current and archived content from more than 2,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

Ancestry.com (In Libary Use Only)

Ancestry.com is the world's largest online resource for family history. Search 7 billion historical records, millions of family trees, and 65 million photos.

Daily Nonpareil Index

An online index of articles appearing in the Council Bluffs Daily Nonpareil since June of 1998. To obtain the full article please note the date, title and page number and contact the Council Bluffs Public Library Reference desk at 712-323-7553 ext. 132 or email to: cbplref@cbpl.lib.ia.us

Digital Sanborn Maps

Browse historic maps of Council Bluffs. Provides digital access to large-scale maps of American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Heritage Quest

A collection of American genealogical sources?rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The collection consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses, Genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index, Revolutionary War records, Freedman?s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set.

NewspaperARCHIVE

Search the Council Bluffs Daily Nonpareil (1936 - 1956), Full-text online. NewspaperARCHIVE is a resource for historical and genealogical information. This online archive of local newspapers spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.

Pottawattamie County Genealogical Society

The Genealogical Society maintains a comprehensive index of local obituaries. Their website contains information on how to obtain a wide range of documents including birth records, cemetery records, and marriage records.

WWII Servicemen Clippings

A database of press clippings related to the men and women of Council Bluffs who served in the Second World War.

Warning

Javascript is currently disabled. For full functionality of this site it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

Warning

You are using an outdated browser. Sorry, this web site doesn't support Internet Explorer 6. To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version or other web browser. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below. It is completely free for download: