About Us

About the Library

“The Council Bluffs Public Library is committed to enriching, informing and empowering our community.”

The Council Bluffs Public Library exists to meet the changing needs of Council Bluffs citizens, families and businesses. We offer children, teen, and adult services so we can meet specific requests for a variety of ages. We also have a tech lab with all of the tools and programs to allow you to keep innovating. Explore our site to learn more about what the Council Bluffs Library has to offer. Click here to read the Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2020-21.

Upcoming Holiday Hours

Thursday, November 11, 2021
CLOSED ~ Veterans Day

Wednesday, November 24, 2021
CLOSES @ 5PM ~ Thanksgiving Eve

Thursday, November 25, 2021
CLOSED ~ Thanksgiving Day

Library Hours

Monday – Thursday 9:00am – 9:00pm
Friday – Saturday 9:00am – 5:00pm
Sunday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm

kids enjoying library events


Registered Card Holders


Check-outs per Day


Sq. ft. of Building Space


Full & Part-time Staff

Antonia Krupicka-Smith

Antonia Krupicka-Smith

Library Director

The leaves are changing and the weather has cooled.  The monarchs have begun their migration and at the library we are happy to bring back well-loved programs and introduce new resources to the community.

This October we will be expanding our Dia de los Muertos celebration with a large community ofrenda, a to-go sugar skull activity, crafts and activities on site, music and more.  Join us on October 30th for this wonderful cultural celebration for the whole family.

The youth department is once again providing weekly storytimes.  For the month of October these will be at Bayliss Park, but in November they will move back inside and be in Meeting Room B while the renovation continues on the youth area.  In November, family programming will also return on a once monthly basis and to-go kits will be available during Thanksgiving and the Holiday school breaks.

The teen department is introducing a menu of programs available all the time which allows for variety of choice for teens when they are in Teen Central.  I encourage you to stop in and try out robotics, arts, or something crafty.  There is also a once a month club on Tuesdays that introduces life skills in a fun and not intimidating environment.  In November there will be a watch party and gaming event to coincide with the MAGE event at the Mid-American center.

The adult department will be hosting fun events this fall to support the Council Bluffs Public Library Foundation Author Speaker Series.  We are excited to welcome national author Carl Hiaasen on October 28th at 7 p.m. on the Iowa Western Community College campus.  Some events leading up to this event include a free night of improve at The Hoff and an informational presentation on owls from Fontenelle Forest.  Other fun events this fall include a murder mystery and various presentations on exciting topics.  Check the library website for more information on upcoming programs!

We are happy to provide a new Discovery Pass to the Omaha Children’s Museum.  This pass will checkout with your library card and provide a wonderful interactive experience for you and the kiddos in your life.  Also this fall we will introduce a new children’s format called a WonderBook.  This format is a recorded picture book for kiddos to listen to a story as they flip through the book independently or with their big person.  Exposure to books and providing access to various formats is an important element of early literacy.

This fall I also encourage you to try something new by checking out a board game or baking pan.  Use our hobbies and crafts reference center to try a new recipe, learn a new paper craft, or research that old coin collection you found.  Don’t forget about the Library Makerspace!  Now is the perfect time to start making your holiday gifts or use our sound booth to record some festive music.  All of this is possible with your Council Bluffs Public Library card.  I hope to see you at the library soon!

Library Board of Trustees

The Council Bluffs Public Library is governed by the Board of Library Trustees and is comprised of 9 members who are appointed by the Mayor and are confirmed by City Council. Each member serves a six-year term. As defined in the Board By-laws, the primary duties of the Board include:

  • Serves as a liaison between the library and the community
  • Acts as a policy-making board
  • Assists in budget preparation
  • Control of expenditure of funds allocated to the library
  • Responsible for the appointment of a librarian

Board meetings are held on the third Wednesday of the month at 4:30 pm at the Library.

Click here to download the PDF for this month’s Board Packet.

Past Reports

August 2021

August 2021 Special Meeting

July 2021

June 2021

May 2021

April 2021

March 2021

February 2021

January 2021

November 2020

October 2020

Library Board Members

matt garst

Matt Garst


Stacy Goodman

Stacey Goodman

Abby Jares, 2019

Abby Jares

Nicole Juranek

Nicole Juranek


Cindi Keithley

Leo Martin

Leo Martin

Alison Smith

Alison Smith


Jared Tripp

Jared Tripp


Hours Open per Week


Meeting Rooms for Public Use


Materials in Collection


Number of Public Computers